Auxiliary battery

Stan Lee

Aug 29, 2012
rAdelaide
www.expandasdownunder.com
Hi guys

i'm new to the this venture as i only previously relied on 240v at c/van parks. My new (2nd hand) 14.44.2 has an auxiliary battery.

1) How long would i be expected to be able to run the van with it?
2) What tips have u got for me so I can maximize it's potential but importantly not leave myself in a spot either?? :)

cheers

Bank of Dad

Jul 20, 2011
Kilmore, VIC
I charge mine every 4 to 6 weeks at home. I connect to the home 10 amp via a "Amp Fibian". Don't forget to turn the Battery Switch on in the van!

The battery would likely be a 100 amp battery so how long it lasts depends on what you use. Use 1 amp/hour then 100 hours, 50 amps then 2 hours etc. Mostly the 12 volt powers lights so change to LED and you will increase your time heaps.

Stan Lee

Aug 29, 2012
rAdelaide
Thanks B.O.D.

yeah i was wondering if on my next planned extended journey, whether i could get away with unpowered sites or free campsites etc, or whether i'd have to consider a geny or something!!

We're planning a 2.5 month trip from adel - bris then back to adel via the east coast during jan to march - so i'm thinking the parks will be flat out!

Bmhdg76

Oct 6, 2012
North Lakes, Qld.
Hi Stan,

Just remember that you should never drain your battery more than 50% or risk damaging it. So if your battery is 100amp hour than you effectively can only use 50amps. Not the 100 hours as stated above. The other point to remember is that the heavier you use it the less you have. By this I mean if you used a larger inverter and pulled say 20amps per hour. Your batt would only really last the hour due to the chemical reaction required to replenish the battery level. Please note that these figures are only examples. BJ.

Feb 1, 2012
Thanks B.O.D.