Ute Canopy Weight Limit

macca

(aka maccayak)
Mar 20, 2012
Victoria
I have two ARB canopies on both my utes, one a BT 50 and the other a VE Ute. To be honest, I do not know the actual weight it holds, but if you look at the internal support bars, I reckon it would do well as a roll bar in a V8 supercars race. I am a Plumber, on my VE, I have had pipe, ladder and two long gas heaters on the top of it without a problem at all. Solid as a rock! But you have to option the canopy with the internal support and roof racks. I would buy them again.

Geoff

relgate

Superstar
Staff member
Feb 2, 2012
Sydney, NSW
I have been looking at this coz I'm still shopping for the right canopy.
It seems to me that the BT50 is only rated to 100kg (according to Rhino etc) so that pretty much limits my canopy to 100kg unless I carry stuff without touching the bars on the BT50.
I have been looking at Razorback and Flexiglass for central locking.
ARB make a strong canopy and are in contention but no central locking unless you go 3rd party here: http://canopylocks.com.au/

Jaybird

May 31, 2012
Gippsland Lakes
Ive got ARB on my Navara, I think they said they are 100kg rated however im a signwriter (retired now) but i used to carry ladders planks as well as big realestate timber signs on top and did so for 4 years and no problems at all. It did have the supprt bar inside as Geoff said in his post

17triton

Feb 24, 2013
Ballarat
Hey! Who will have the first Expanda with central locking?

media-system-jpg.jpg
My money`s on this bloke! Adam !18-57-9

expanda

Site Founder
Staff member
Dec 22, 2009
Western, Sydney....
www.expandasdownunder.com