Running a Ctek MSX25 along side the Setec ST20

graphic1972

Feb 28, 2017
Perth
Hi all,

It didn't take me long to realise that the built in charging system in expandas are pretty poor (Setec ST20).
Although I have been happy with everything else the Setec does in 12v power distribution.
I wanted to install something more efficient and powerful for faster charging of the internal battery when on a powered site but I didn't want it to effect or conflict with the installed Setec.

I had already installed a Ctek Dual 250 and was impressed by what it had to offer in size and functionality on the DC to DC side of things, So I decided to install a Ctek MSX25.

After trawling through pages and pages on forums and the interweb :)
I couldn't find any information on how to stop the Setec from charging the van battery without effecting the 12v distribution.
So I thought I would share with the community my DIY solution which seems to work.
Now bare in mind i'm no electronics expert and please correct me if you are an expert and think this is a bad idea.

I turned off the Setek and unpluged, I also disconnected the battery.
I located the positive wire coming from the Setek to the Battery and cut it. ( white in my case)
I used one side of a 35amp bridge rectifier (Diode) to act as a one way valve. ($4.50 from Jaycar)
I then used thermal paste and bolted it to a heat sink also from Jaycar.
The rectifier was then placed in-between the cut wires with soldered spade connectors making sure it was around the right way allowing 12v from the battery to the Setek but not from the Setek to the battery.
I didn't really know if it was going to get hot or not which is why i opted for a 35amp rectifier and heat sink.
I reconnected everything and power up........All good.
Battery no longer being charged but all of the lights 12v sockets and TV works great.
I then connected the new Ctek MSX25 to the mains and battery and hey presto it charges like a dream and the rectifier stays stone cold.