Rear Bar, Wheel Carrier Concepts - Want One? What could be Better?

zerosecta

Sep 27, 2011
Melbourne
Hi Folks, Been playing around with Cad Drawing a Little and Drawn up a Rear Bar with Swing out Spare Wheel Carrier Idea.

Will be also Drawing up and adding a Bike Carrier that will fit over the Spare Tyre in a little Bit.

Thoughts? Want One? PM Me. I heard yesterday Companies are Quoting $2000+ for something similar WOW... I can do them and less than Half that...

bar open rear.JPG bar rear view.JPG bar front view.JPG bar open front.JPG

macca

(aka maccayak)
Mar 20, 2012
Victoria
Someone has got a lot of spare time.:o

Does look heavy on that pivot point, but I'm no engineer. I like the swing down one as it's out of the way under the lid. I would be worried:scared: after a few drinks I would walk into it.

zerosecta

Sep 27, 2011
Melbourne
Pivot piont would be a stub axle with bearings etc so it will have no problem. Far as weight gos's - not actually to bad and just aswell if you are going to add a big toolbox full of goodies up front...

I agree though i also prefere the swing down wheel, This just a variation that give you the option of adding the bike carrier and then also not having to remove the bikes if they not going to be used.. Would also have to use a nice gas strut to hold it open :). Also if not taking bikes then you can leave the bike carrier.

I have actually made myself the same bike carrier that fits to the spare wheel on the back of the prado, just a nice snug fit over the tyre and a couple of straps for extra surety.

So thats the point of this thread guys - open to criticism so that i can tweak the designs :)

Btw - there is a company in melbourne that quotes over two grand for rear bar and bike carrier

hornet

Apr 9, 2012