17' Series GPS Tracker Device & Mods

baarsm

Dec 9, 2020
Melbourne VIC 3000, Australia
Hi all,

Newbie here, just did our first trip with our brand new 17.56-2-MY-EX. Managed to pick one up a few days ago and chilling in Woodside beach at the moment. Sitting inside and wondering what internal/external mods to do. Quite a few 3M hooks already placed in a few spots.
I did purchase a GPS tracker from mytag.com.au - XTraK GPS Locator - 3 Year Battery Life, however noticed that the signal stopped outside Traralgon. I do have Telstra reception here, but signal won't come up. Anyone can recommend a good reliable GPS tracker?

Also any mods/tips would be welcome ;);)

Anyone installed a separate Gas connector for outdoor cooking? prefer to minimise indoor cooking?
20201213_154248.jpg

Last edited:

Drover

Nov 7, 2013
QLD
I find a portable barbie like a weber with its own gas bottle more versatile than having a fixed gas point, you can move it around to suit the weather and keep it away from van walls...... have a fixed gas point outside but haven't used it for ages now plus the long hoses are way overpriced.

Reactions: baarsm and KECL

Crusty181

Feb 7, 2010
Mentone, VIC
The pic makes your van look 30ft long. Welcome to the forum and congrats on the van, first time vanners??

Woodside is quite a nice spot, we were there btw lockdowns. Unfortunately you can get a few rednecks in there.

I use a retire mobile phone as my gps tracker, a $10 charge lasts forever. I wrote a couple of Apps to geofence and live track mine, but the "find my phone" feature will do the job. It works, because i forget i have it and the damn thing goes off like a frog in a sock everytime i move the van.

I thought all Jaycos have the outside gas bbq bayonet. I added a 2nd one under the awning side behind the wheels, if you dont have one there easy enough to add. Each appliance needs its own isolation tap.