Fridge Question

macca

(aka maccayak)
Mar 20, 2012
Victoria
A friend of mine has been telling me not to get the gas fridge in the Jayco, he says I should get a 12V compressor fridge. I know the Dometic is 12V but it does not have a compressor. I will not be free camping so power will not be an issue. Has anyone put a Waeco or Nova Kool fridge in and can you even option to have the fridge deleted from the package. Any info would be appreciated. It's more the older guys I work with who have their $60K vans telling me this stuff, I am just learning.

Edit. A bit of research later and it seems there is a Waeco factory upgrade? Is that correct?

Geoff

bigman0510

Apr 9, 2011
Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
moranbahweather.com
Hey Geoff,
I was a bit scared about getting a gas fridge after all the issues about cooling that I have heard about. But we live in Central Queensland and it works a treat! have frozen stuff in the freezer section, and have NEVER had an issue with it what so ever. We also have a compressor fridge, then you have to worry about solar and batteries more when free camping. Also we don't have the fan option and we have to run our fridge on 4 or 5 other wise its starts to freeze everything. I highly recommend it!! Good Luck!!

bully66672

Jun 30, 2011
Melbourne
I have used gas fridges for years in a few different vans and have never had any problems.
Every one I know also use gas type fridges and are happy with their performance.

Coastrunner

Mar 18, 2012
South Coast NSW
www.expandasdownunder.com
Hi Geoff.

I`ve had three different vans over the past 12 years and all have had three way fridges. {12V, 240V & LPG}. In each van I have found the fridges work great on gas and 240V. I think the fridges actually seem to work best on gas. 12 Volt has always kept the fridge cool traveling between spots.

I think I`ll always go for the 3 way fridge.