Electrical Fitting Eco hot water service

Big Al

Jul 23, 2012
Hi all I was wandering if someone can tell me if the power point on my 2012 16.49 .1 outback Expanda would be a 15 amp plug.I might be fitting an Eco hot water system and I was told I need a 15 amp power point and a 15 amp circuit breaker.The PowerPoint I was thinking of using is under the sink and is using one side for the aircon I think. Has any body fitted the Eco ,is it a good thing and does it produce really hot water.want to use it mainly to was dishes.sick of having to boil the kettle.thanks in advance .

Pace

Sep 16, 2011
melbourne
www.expandasdownunder.com
Re: Eco hotwater system, I have no knowledge.

Re: your van wiring/plug orientation, though to identify a 15A plug they will stand out. I have noticed that the vertical pin slot to be longer than the others (10A), and if you look really close, there could be marking on it like ''15A'/ 15Amps'.

Now l'm not authorised electrician, though just heading you in a direction. Good luck. Pace.

Reactions: 17triton and brotys

Colsar

May 10, 2014
Mornington Peninsula
15 amp plug has larger bottom pin and won't fit 10 amp socket , so 15 amp socket has larger bottom slot and can take both I am lead to believe ,

macca

(aka maccayak)
Mar 20, 2012
Victoria
I would think you would need a 15 amp plug or hard wired. It is rated at 3.4kW. As a plumber, I am aware that the highest rated hws units that are plug in are 2.4kW. It uses nearly as much as a common electric hws which are 3.6kW and they are hard wired. I would wonder how one would go if you had your aircond/heater on and turned the tap on at the same time. Maybe a Griswald scene like in Christmas vacation.

Surely there is an electrician on here?

Middo

Apr 25, 2014
Brisbane