Excited Newbie family

warren cook

Sep 18, 2016
Western Sydney
IMG_4519.JPG
Hey Everyone,

Newbie here just signed up after months of reading this site.

Quick thanks to all who have posted here as I have picked up quite a few hints and tips from you all.

We have recently picked up our first caravan, a 20.64-1 OB for my wife and 4 young girls. We are extremely happy with our van, not just because its our first but we feel that we got exactly what was needed for our family and cant yet see any reason why we might need to upgrade in the future, so this is us for a good many years to come.

The in-laws have been caravanning for years but we always stayed in Cabins for the ease of things, setting up etc. Now our girls have grown a tad older we felt the time was right to take the plunge. It has been an extremely exciting time from the beginning when we were searching for vans, (however much of a mind field it was considering my zero experience) trying to "imagine" what it would be like for our family holidays. I used plenty of members tips and ideas and checklists in order to get the final result, remember we had to set up everything for a 6 person family from scratch. It has been costly but every penny spent was with a smile knowing what great times lie ahead for us.

The new hobby has pulled us all together even tighter as we all sit and talk about what everyone wants to do and where do we want to go, so that in itself has made it all the worth while.

We use a Jeep Grand Cherokee to tow and must say that even though I was nervous about my first tow (picking it up from Watsons Port Macquarie and driving back to Sydney) within 20min I felt completely comfortable with the whole rig set up.

I have to say though the only thing that I never picked up from anywhere was how far out you have to book into sites in order to go away (family places), it seems that during school holidays if you are not booked in a year out you will struggle, all part of learning I suppose.