Exterior Electronic pop top lifter?

Dobbie

Jun 18, 2014
Hi all.

I've been doing a bit of dreaming about the ideal pop top set up as I wait on a caravan build and got to thinking about possible weight issues with lifting a pop top in my old age...not there yet, but it's a consideration.

Pop tops with extra solar panels and roof aircons will obviously be heavier to lift and to drop so I'm wondering about 12v lifters and came across a linear actuator.

I'm no engineer and have no experience in this area at all.

Has anyone any thoughts on this?

I'm now quite interested if what I have read has a current application for pop tops.

This may be another piece of information that's passed me by but I'd be interested in any comments.

Reactions: bigcol

Dobbie

Jun 18, 2014
Hey @chartrock ...you old fart!

:p

(Your terminology, not mine.)

Yep, we don't get any younger sadly....but we can resist the march of time as long as possible.

I guess I was pondering about another year gone by, the really enjoyable holidays we've had this year, the plans we're making to get away and how physically challenged I've been just cleaning up the shed. And my back is really iffy. So I thought about how we intend to keep this van as long as possible and get away as often as possible.....then I tried to second guess future issues... (stupid idea...don't recommend it)

Hence the idea of a power pop top popper!

Just wondering how many of those air lifters your pal has? I'm assuming four would be needed?

and will I run the risk of attracting a captive audience of fellow farts if I stand outside the van, undo the clips, grab a remote control and hey presto!!

I know I'd be gawking if I saw it.

But I will investigate, if not for now but for my future dotage. I'd rather be gawked at than not go camping!

:bounce:

Oh....and a Happy and Safe New Year to all.

Bushman

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Nov 9, 2010
Wollondilly Shire NSW