17' Series Annex Safety Problems

Marv_mart

Jan 3, 2014
Adelaide
That is of course just my reading of the new regulations as outlines by @Bellbirdweb above.
I am no expert so really we need somebody to give us a definitive answer to these questions, preferably somebody who is a gas fitter and done/attended the update course for the new AS/NZS 5601.2 :2013
Is anybody on our forum qualified to confirm or clarify?

gwadir

Feb 2, 2013
Albion Park, NSW
@Marv_mart

Just posted this on another thread,

Just went through and ran the calculation from AS/NZS 5601.2 2013 for our van, for the fridge @ 1.24MJ/hr and the stove/grill @20.8MJ/hr the total vent area V = 18644.4mm², therefore two vents 200mm x 100mm placed on either side or either end of the annex is sufficient ventilation to meet compliance under the standard so where the annex industry reps or governing body or whatever are getting the 30% figure I don't know but based on this it is way wrong.
Dave

The calc is easy to apply so you can soon work out the size vents you would require in your annex, i think the industry needs to take a step back, take a deep breath and get an understanding of what is required before going off in a knee jerk reaction to a change in the standard.

Petecaz

Jun 26, 2014
I worked out similar for my van. I have sent our situation to the SA gas regulator to ask their specifications on it as When i rang them earlier they said it is different with a fly screen on top. They said they will get it to me in writing exactly what I need to do to my annex to comply.

gwadir

Feb 2, 2013
Albion Park, NSW
I worked out similar for my van. I have sent our situation to the SA gas regulator to ask their specifications on it as When i rang them earlier they said it is different with a fly screen on top. They said they will get it to me in writing exactly what I need to do to my annex to comply.
@Petecaz looking forward to hear what they advise you.

macca

(aka maccayak)
Mar 20, 2012
Victoria