17' Series Toilet issues..

Four of us

Apr 27, 2011
Ipswich QLD
Hi all, I know there have been a few issues and post on here about toilet pumps not working..., and I’m wondering if anyone has any ideas.....my issue is my pump works when I bench test it....but doesn’t work when the pump is connected to the toilet panel..I bought a new panel today and fitted it but the pump still didn’t work...I tested the wires into the toilet panel...red and white wires read 12.3v but when I press the blue button on the panel I’m only getting 2,3v on the blue and brown wires going to the pump...has anyone got any ideas on why...I’m no electrician...I have changed the fuse from 3amps to 7.5 but still no improvements...any ideas??????.. Thanks...

mikerezny

Sep 11, 2016
Mount Waverley, VIC
Hi,
you might have a large voltage drop along the cable from your battery to the pump. This will be because the wiring is not heavy enough to carry the current that the pump requires.

Connect your multi-meter across the 12V wires into the toilet. Measure the voltage. Now with the meter still connected, press the blue button. What is the voltage when the button is pressed?

take care
Mike

Drover

Nov 7, 2013
QLD
Crushed wire or moisture has got in and the copper is rotten inside, as Mike said to test and try a jumper wire to see if it works before you replace wiring.

Reactions: Four of us

poor but proud

Aug 25, 2018
redlands
i am also not a sparky, but during our last trip flush/pump started to play up slow/fast, work sometimes, traced it to a partially broken and corroded wire at the blackwater tank isolation switch,(think it is called a reed switch) the one that will not allow the pump to work when the tank is not in place. probably talking to someone who knows how it works, but the top of the tank has the small blade that activates the switch ,best of luck tracing the issue, took me two days to find it and 10 min to solder in a new piece of wire

Reactions: Four of us

Four of us