No Options Apply the most frustrating caravan invention

poor but proud

Aug 25, 2018
redlands
any one else had the joy of repairing caravan plumbing and as you progress the next john guest fitting in line starts to leak and each one you replace the next one leaks this is while you are under the van like a crippled bat, next time i will replace the whole line and not pollute the neighbourhood with my colourful discription of john guest fittings

rags

any one else had the joy of repairing caravan plumbing and as you progress the next john guest fitting in line starts to leak and each one you replace the next one leaks this is while you are under the van like a crippled bat, next time i will replace the whole line and not pollute the neighbourhood with my colourful discription of john guest fittings
As a plumber, I don’t mind the John Guest pipevand fitting system done properly however, when I did the plumbing on 3 vans some mates built, I happily used the Rehau crimp pipe system that good plumbers use when copper is no longer desirable (cost). I did so because of cost and performance of the rehau system over the John guest.
The tip for the John guest system is to use pipe cutters when cutting the pipe for straight cuts and to use the retainer clips on each fitting.

poor but proud

Aug 25, 2018
redlands
i like the look of those rehau fittings,i just watched their training video ,i have used the sharkbite fittings on some home piping they are easy to use in the right situation, i believe my current issues are compounded by the caravan builders bending new flexible pipe into less than optimum angles and bends ,now years later the pipe has gone rigid and does not handle movement at all , so if there is an issue,you are advised to replace a complete section with new pipe and fittings , a pipe cutter is a must and on new work i install end spacers and lock clips,funny though, none of these are present in any of the fittings i have replaced
thanks rags

Drover