Electrical REDARC Error (red flashing) / Power feed to Pin 2 (related??) - 2018 Jayco Swan

Glenn_75

Aug 30, 2020
Country WA
Hi all, first time poster on the forum, hoping someone can help or provide guidance. I’m no expert in any stretch on electrical things and can only provide how I understand my issue.

I’ve recently had a REDARC Tow-Pro elite v3 installed to my 2012 Holden Colorado RG LTZ, which i had installed as we have purchased a used 2018 Jayco Swan Outback.

We have the wiring for the Jayco Swan fridge that would normally go through pins 9and10 put through an Anderson plug, whilst Pin 2 is the 12v supply to the battery management system in the Jayco Swan as per Jayco’s wiring guide.

Everything works fine and then intermittently we have the red flashing error/issue on the REDARC which indicates an earth issue somewhere via REDARC’s website. If I turn the car off, remove the plug and wait a minute, then connect back up and head off driving again everything is back to normal, and then just as random at some stage I get the red flashing on the REDARC again.

When the installer disconnects the 12v power feed wire from the trailer plug via pin2 we don’t experience the issue at all at any stage. Why would taking out the wire to pin 2 in the Jayco Swan Plug eliminate the issue?

The installer has double checked all of his work and claims the earthing issue is in the Jayco Swan somewhere, pointing towards it being an issue in the brakes themselves on the Jayco Swan.

Has anyone come across this issue before or can provide any guidance?

Appreciate anything anyone can provide to try and help me understand.

Boots in Action

Mar 13, 2017
Ferny Grove, Queensland
Hi all, first time poster on the forum, hoping someone can help or provide guidance. I’m no expert in any stretch on electrical things and can only provide how I understand my issue.