Just Browsing Newbie Looking for first Van

**Matt@!

Sep 1, 2014
Hi All
As the post name suggests im a newbie looking to buy my first van/tug combo to start exploring this great country with my young family (wife, kids aged 2+5). Looking to travel through flinders ranges and where ever possible/our car will take us, mostly staying in caravan parks or sites but wouldn’t mind getting a little more 'outback' for small trips every now and then but again most parks.
Tow vehicle will most likely be a Ford Territory Diesel TS AWD but it is not purchased yet so am open to view/opinions on this too as long as they are of similar spec/price (no LC Sahara suggestions please!!)
Obviously the van is really the point of my post, looking at either a Swan, 14.44-4 pop top or 16.49-3 pop top. I think my wife really wants a toilet and or shower but do you really need it when staying in parks mostly and the one van that has it above, it looks very small so not sure if tis worth it?
Having never owned a caravan in my life and my parents never having one either i have no idea, i just know the Jayco name is reliable, they look good and fall within a budget. Does anyone have any suggestions or opinions on these vans. should i be looking at an OB or will a tourer be enough on uneven dirt roads around Flinders Ranges, etc.
Open to suggestions, views and opinions on different models as long as its within reason. Also any suggested options that should really be considered ‘mandatory’ but they still charge for it.
Anything else I should know about caravanning, along the lines of ‘unspoken rules’ that I don't know about!.
I know its alot, but thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:

chartrock

Forum Patriarch
Staff member
Sep 26, 2010
Gold Coast Hinterland