20' Series Hot Water System - Melted pipe

Andrew Noon

Oct 19, 2015
Mango Hill
Hi Guys,

Just hoping for some advice. Our hot water seems to work on mains but not on gas. I opened up the cover to take a look and it looks like the hot water pipe has completely melted! I obviously know I need to replace this but should I be checking anything else while I'm at it? If it's melted does that mean the thermostat has failed too or can it just get really hot in there - it's very possible my kids have accidentally knocked the heater on and it's stayed on a long time - very possible!

Here's a pic:

20151018_114102.jpg

chartrock

Forum Patriarch
Staff member
Sep 26, 2010
Gold Coast Hinterland
Welcome to the forum @Andrew Noon. I'm no expert on the heaters but that pipe takes the water from the pressure relief valve if the water gets too hot. The water would never get hot enough to melt the plastic pipe but i notice a wire behind the pipe that appears to have overheated and melted the plastic cover behind it. I would suspect that something has happened with the gas inlet just beside the pink melted pipe and caused some failure and would be taking it to an expert for repairs. We do have some knowledgeable people here who may be able to provide a more comprehensive reply.

macca

(aka maccayak)
Mar 20, 2012
Victoria
It could also be that you may have a spider in the gas burner (can see webs), it may has caused the flame to roll out and burn wires and pipe. Also the burner looks discoloured. Turn the gas and power off to it and get it checked. Also don't use it on power as the drain is blocked so it would put pressure on all the pipes.

Reactions: mfexpanda

Drover

Nov 7, 2013
QLD
Well the drain was obviously touching the burner pipe and the flange is leaking also which if like mine could leak into the wall.