Electrical Generator recomendations

Dino

Jan 23, 2022
Tocumwal
Hi,
I just bought a 2004 expanda and want to buy a generator to take it down the river camping. It has a microwave, refridgerative aircon, small fridge, tv and I will need to charge phones too. What does everyone recommend for a reliable not too expensive generator? I have no experience with them.
Andrew

Drover

Nov 7, 2013
QLD
If your off grid camping then most rely on solar to charge batteries for 12v TV, lights, charging phones, things like microwaves and AC can be run via a 12v invertor but that requires a decent upgrade and a big bag of dollars.....

Lots carry Gennies as a backup to charge batteries after days of no sun, an Invertor genny is a must so you don't fry circuit boards and at least 2 kva, I carry a Honda EU2 while it will run my AC its never used for that, washing machine at times or to provide power for a multi stage battery charger, some AC's though (even same model) will need a bigger genny.................... If you used a genny as your main source of power in camp you would not be popular at all...... Fridge runs on gas, stove on gas, TV on 12v, phones can charge via a USB hub from van batteries.....

But having said all that, Honda and Yamaha make good reliable units in the 2 - 2.5 kva range, price is up there but the chance of frying your circuit boards is minimal compared to some very cheap jobs around....

jazzeddie1234

May 19, 2016
Mandurah
I had a $200 1kw gentrax or something for a few years and it was great for charging batteries and small. I have a honda 2.2kw now. I swore I would never use it to run the aircon - then we had a few 40' days...