Drawbar modifications

Rowdman

Mar 14, 2011
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie to this forum and to my Expanda too ! I have a 2010 16.49.2 and intend taking the kids through the red centre later this year.

Anyway, it came with a 9kg gas bottle holder and I'd like to mount another one - somewhere. I'd also like to add a tool box - somewhere.

Any ideas ?

Cheers,
R.

chartrock

Forum Patriarch
Staff member
Sep 26, 2010
Gold Coast Hinterland
G'day Rowdman and welcome to the forum. You can purchase a gas bottle holder and clamp or weld it to the draw bar beside the existing one but this would take up the space where you might fit a tool box. Can you post up a couple of photos of the van?
Regards
Paul

Moto Moto

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Mar 15, 2011
The Gong
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie to this forum and to my Expanda too ! I have a 2010 16.49.2 and intend taking the kids through the red centre later this year.

Anyway, it came with a 9kg gas bottle holder and I'd like to mount another one - somewhere. I'd also like to add a tool box - somewhere.

Any ideas ?

Cheers,
R.

Hi Rowdman,

I had a similar problem on my Jayco Hawk. I wasn't too keen on welding anything to the drawbar, so decided to use a standard 4.5kg gas bottle holder and some long square u bolts to hold in place. Worked a treat;)

Might be a simple solution you could try. We just used the smaller bottle to run the weber q. The smaller bottle may fit better under the folder down bed as well (i think the 9kg on the Expanda is offset and lower than most caravans/campers):cool:

KC

Attachments

• gas bottle.JPG
    gas bottle.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 3,934

Rowdman

Mar 14, 2011
Hey guys, thanks for all the advice !

I've got a bracket getting built that will allow me to hang the gas bottle off the outside of the drawbar (using u-bolts). I hope to have it later this week and all going well I'll load some pics here shortly after.

Fingers crossed.

Rowdman

Mar 14, 2011
Problem solved