16' Series Dometic freshjet 3200 disapointing

WogsRus

May 14, 2020
Hobart TAS, Australia
So my jayco came pre-wired and set up for a roof top ac. Once I got all the drawings and the like from jayco, i purchased a dometic freshjet 3200 as I was after the reverse cycle heating function. (Ps I'm a mechanical engineer by trade hence me being pedantic)

I installed the AC today, very easy and happy with the install, however in heating, the thing is useless.

It is suppose to have 2.4 kw of heating rated, which for out 16.49-4 van, should be shitloads.

I've had the unit running for a few hours, its 10 degrees outside and I can nearly get 18bdegrees inside...

Wtf, the unit was recommended by our local guys and on spec, looked really good.

Our $250 diesel heater in the old van was 10 times better.

Cooling seams ok.

Anyone had similar issues?

How does your AC works?

Drover

Nov 7, 2013
QLD
Big Mal originally had a Dometic B3000, cooling was good, heating not bad, tested July in Canberra but the whole unit would rock the van when doing a restart and was a horrible noisy beast, thanks to a hail storm I now have an Aircommand Ibis III, whisper quiet, chills really well and the heater does need turning down, Big Mal is a 23ft rig so needs some air flow and we are very happy with the Ibis, can sleep during the night without it waking you up all the time thinking an elephant has landed on the roof.

BJM

Sep 29, 2018
Yamba
There is someting wrong with the unit.You should nearly have to throw all your gear off even at 10c with the heating specs of the unit.I presume your van is not a poptop as they will loose more heat than normal van..but still should heat well.test the hot air temp coming straight out of the unit at roof level.This will tell you a lot of info.plus is cooling working as it should?

WogsRus

May 14, 2020
Hobart TAS, Australia
The unit is a poptop, hence why I went for the bigger unit due tonhear loss.