Exterior Ants

mikerezny

Sep 11, 2016
Mount Waverley, VIC
Hi,
On our Penguin, I just discovered a trail of small black ants coming along the concrete driveway, up a block of wood the hitch is resting on, along the A-frame and seemed to be pooling around the corners under the roof.

As far as I can tell, none have got inside the van.

Since I am new to owning a van, is this something quite common and I should be on the lookout for?

Has anyone else had ants trying to hitch a free ride on their van?

Can anyone suggest what I should, and just as importantly, what I should not do to deter the little beggars?

At the moment, I have squashed all the ants I could find and sprayed the wooden block and A-frame with insect repellent (before the can ran out). I am reluctant to spray on the fibreglass or body in case it causes damage to the surface.

regards
Mike

Bushman

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Nov 9, 2010
Wollondilly Shire NSW
Yep we.ve had problems with ants in the past and present also wasps nesting under the van at home, as for the ant first point as you have already done is to spray the frame also spray anything that comes into contact with the ground when at home or at camp, using talcum powder around wheels and legs will deter them or use Ant Sand which they carry back to the nest and bingo kills the little bastards,
Ditch the block of wood under your drawer bar us the jockey wheel or a stand, place the stand/wheel in shallow tray of water and keep it topped up do the same for each leg when van is in use, 150mm PVC pipe end caps come in handy for this.