1. We have just updated the site click here for some informaton on what the changes!

Foxtel GO or Mobile Foxtel Airplay & AppleTV

Discussion in 'How To's / FAQ's / Technical Documents' started by LUK77Y, Apr 14, 2013.

  1. bigman0510

    bigman0510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    810
    Location:
    Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
    can you then stream to it?
    It would make sense if you could..... but then again its apple...LOL!
     
  2. Capt. Gadget

    Capt. Gadget Obsessive & Compulsive Gadget Man

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Sunny Northam W.A.
    hmmm it does the internet connection but wont let me connect to my iTunes library on my Mac book more investigation is required
     
  3. AndrewC

    AndrewC Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    Murrumba Downs, Brisbane
    I just got a hold of a router so I'll try both. At least if I install the router then I can control my fusion stereo through the iPhone app from my camping chair as well:anonymous:
     
    Skoobs likes this.
  4. LUK77Y

    LUK77Y Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Central Coast - NSW
    Guys, you don't need a router. You simply hot spot your 3G iPad or iPhone and the devices will be accessible for each other.Simply connect to the SID provided once hot spot is enabled.
     
  5. AndrewC

    AndrewC Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    Murrumba Downs, Brisbane
    Ok, done that but is only streaming the sound and no picture. Should the Apple TV main menu disappear automatically or do I need to go into something to get the picture?
     
  6. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    Rowville, Victoria
    Guys I don't think you are going to find what you are asking to do from iPad to Apple TV an easy task.
    It can be done but you need other bits. Which then makes me wonder why you would not just buy a router.
    Anyway, put your propeller hat on and take a look at this link.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4003835?start=0&tstart=0
     
  7. AndrewC

    AndrewC Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    Murrumba Downs, Brisbane
    Well after 2 hours mucking around, this is what I have concluded.

    I successfully connected the iPhone to the apple TV via a router and also the hotspot method. Both of which played kids cartoons that are on my iPhone to my TV screen perfectly, picture and sound.

    However, when I load the Foxtel GO app, its a different story.

    Whether I use the router method or the hotspot method, all I get is sound through the TV and no picture. When you choose the output device on the iPhone there is a little picture of a speaker next to the Apple TV option on the iPhone.

    But when you play the kids cartoons, the symbol is a square box with a triangle. The iphone is restricting the image in the Foxtel app and only allowing sound to transmit :frown-new:

    With this in mind, I think you will find that the Foxtel app has out smarted us and knows that we are trying to display it on the big screen and it simply just does not allow it due to licensing (so I have since been told).
     
  8. Capt. Gadget

    Capt. Gadget Obsessive & Compulsive Gadget Man

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Sunny Northam W.A.
    Just tried and cant even connect with the HDMI cable adaptor either all you get is sound and a big Foxtel logo on the TV . Thanks for that Link to Brad there is a mention there of using an Apple Airport which I just happen to have one that I'm not using ATM might try and utilise that when I get a spare moment or 6
     
  9. Cootay

    Cootay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Engadine, NSW
    Foxtel have disabled video output from the Foxtel Go App, however its not disabled from the Mobile Foxtel app
     
  10. Mike7

    Mike7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    17
    have you guys managed to airplay the foxtel go app? I looked at the foxtel go faq's and it does say sound only, no pictures can be air played.

    Can you "mirror" whats on the ipad onto the tv via apple tv? Mirroring needs to be enabled as per the link below. Maybe this will allow the foxtel go app to be viewed on tv???? Would like to hear how someone goes with this.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht5209

    Cheers
    Mike
     
  11. Capt. Gadget

    Capt. Gadget Obsessive & Compulsive Gadget Man

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Sunny Northam W.A.
    Just tried it Mike7 Nope they are smarter than us!

    image.jpg
     
  12. bigman0510

    bigman0510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    810
    Location:
    Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
    Maybe a Jail break to the apple TV may sort that out?? Also it might be worthwhile to note that you can only have 2 devices registered on the foxtel Go app at any one time, PITA having mulitple devices, I was going to let the kids have the app on their Ipods.
     
  13. Mike7

    Mike7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    17
    Thanks for trying Grant, cheers.

    mike
     
  14. bigman0510

    bigman0510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    810
    Location:
    Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
  15. AndrewC

    AndrewC Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    Murrumba Downs, Brisbane
    From my understanding, its the app on the device which is doing the blocking, not the apple tv. I can plug my ipad directly into the tv via component video cables without the apple tv and get the same result as the photo posted by capt. Gadget

    I think we have been defeated on this one:(
     
  16. bigman0510

    bigman0510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    810
    Location:
    Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
  17. Capt. Gadget

    Capt. Gadget Obsessive & Compulsive Gadget Man

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Sunny Northam W.A.
    Got one of those gadgets and it doesn't work either
     
  18. Mike7

    Mike7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    17
    Man they really have it locked up don't they, there has to be a way around this, the challenge is on.

    Cheers
    Mike
     
  19. bigman0510

    bigman0510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    810
    Location:
    Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
    don't say that, I will be on google for hours now!!
     
  20. bigman0510

    bigman0510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    810
    Location:
    Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
    or 5 minutes


    requires a jailbreak on your device... ive done mine before, its easy

    Capt. Gadget you will have to try this on your HDMI out??
     

Share This Page